About Mission Statement 20 Years Danube University Lifelong Learning Pedagogical Approach Quality Management Organization Chart Facts and Figures Short Film DUK-Gesetz History Tobacco factory Rectorate University Administration Boards Faculties Who is Who Campus Krems Partners Imprint

University History

In 1995 Danube University Krems, which had been founded one year previously, moved into premises in which Virginia cigars used to be rolled a long time ago. From 2003 to 2005, a new campus was built. Today, about 586 staff members, more than 1,000 lecturers and 8,641 students work, learn and do research here in an open environment that promotes innovation.
Historical building
  Milestones in the history of Danube University Krems 
08.04.1994  Danube University Krems is founded by passing a federal law (Federal Law Gazette no. 269/1994). 
06.07.1994  The Province of Lower Austria and the Federal Government commit themselves to jointly maintain the University of advanced education. 
26.09.1994  The Minister of Science Dr. Erhard Busek nominates the members of the Executive Board for their first period of service. The first President of Danube University Krems is Univ.-Prof. Dipl.-Ing. Dr. Franz Lehner. 
13.09.1995  Danube University Krems is officially inaugurated in the historical building of the erstwhile tobacco factory in Krems-Stein. 
01.10.1995  The University courses EURAS (European Advanced Studies), EURO-JUS and EJA (European Journalism Academy) are started. 
01.10.1996  Dipl.-Ing. Dr. Ingela Bruner becomes the President of Danube University Krems. 
1996-1997  The five departments of the University are established. 
12.12.1996  The first visiting professors are nominated. 
01.08.1997  The University Studies Law (UniStG) becomes effective. Danube University Krems is authorized to issue the academic degrees of "Master of Advanced Studies" (MAS) und "Master of Business Administration" (MBA). 
01.01.1999  Univ.-Prof. Dr. Werner Fröhlich becomes the President. 
29.06.1999  The parliament of the Province of Lower Austria unanimously decides to provide 495 million Austrian Shillings to extend the University building complex. 
09.09.2000  At the five-year commemoration, the Residents’ Holding Organization (Alumni-Dachverband) of Danube University Krems is founded. 
12.10.2001  Together with the Austrian Research Center Seibersdorf and the town of Kitzbühel, the University Center Kitzbühl is founded. 
April 2002  The renovation and extension of the middle tract of the erstwhile tobacco factory, and the construction of a car park for staff members are started. 
01.04.2002  Danube University Krems is the first governmental University in Austria to be authorized to award the academic degrees of "Master of Laws" (LL.M.) und "Master in European Studies" (M.E.S.). 
20.06.2002  The University welcomes its 2000th student. 
16.12.2002  Danube University Krems receives its own railway station. 
Winter term 2003/04  Danube University Krems converts its courses which were being concluded until this time by conferment of the degree of "Master of Advanced Studies (MAS)" into courses terminating with the international academic degrees of "Master of Science" (M.Sc.) und "Master of Arts" (M.A.). 
29.09.2003  The Governor of the Province Dr. Erwin Pröll inaugurates the renovated middle tract of the historical building and lays the foundation stone for the new campus. 
01.04.2004  Commencement of new law: "Bundesgesetz über die Universität für Weiterbildung Krems" 
01.02.2005  Prof. Dr. Helmut Kramer becomes the first rector of Danube University Krems. 
07.10.2005  Opening of the new Campus Krems 
Spring 2006  Appointment of the first 12 university professors 
02.02.2007  Univ.-Prof. Dr. Helmut Kramer resigns. The responsibilities and duties are conducted by the vice rectors Univ.-Prof. Dr. Ada Pellert and Dr. Peter Strizik. 
09.05.2007  Univ.-Prof. Dr. Heinrich Kern is elected new rector of Danube University Krems. He takes office in September 2007. 
01.01.2008  The Department for Evidence-based Medicine and Clinical Epidemiology is founded. The university now consists of 16 departments. 
Spring 2008  Danube University Krems welcomes its 4000th student. 
01.09.2008  Rector Heinrich Kern resigns. The responsibilities and duties are conducted by vice rector Univ.-Prof. Dr. Jürgen Willer and Mag. Josef Kolarz-Lakenbacher. 
August 2008  Opening of the new campus west 
17.12.2008  Univ.-Prof. Dr. Jürgen Willer is elected rector of Danube University Krems. He takes office in January 2009. 
August 2009   The 17th department, the Department for Migration and Globalization, is founded.  
Winter term 2009   For the first time, more than 5,000 students are enrolled at Danube University Krems.  
21.06.2010   The University welcomes its 10,000th alumnus, Katja Klasinc.  
06.09.2010   The University Council approves the new organization plan which includes the foundation of five faculties: Health and Medicine, Communication and Globalization, Business and Law, Education and Media, as well as Arts, Culture and Building.  
07.10.2010  Anton Leitner is appointed as Chairman of the Senate. 
21.10.2010   The University celebrates its 15th anniversary in the presence of the Federal Minister Dr. Beatrix Karl, Governor Dr. Erwin Pröll, and the Mayor of the city of Krems, Inge Rinke. 
14.12.2010   The Cochrane Collaboration, the international “flagship” of evidence-based medicine, sets up its Austrian branch office at Danube University Krems. 
01.01.2011   Five deans assume their posts at the newly founded faculties at Danube University Krems: Stefan Nehrer (Health and Medicine), Gudrun Biffl (Communication and Globalization), Walter Seböck (Business and Law), Peter Baumgartner (Education and Media), and Renate Hammer (Arts, Culture and Building).  
19.12.2011  The University Council has unanimously elected the current Rector Jürgen Willer for a second period of office, which commences on 1 January 2013. 
05.09.2012  Opening of the teaching location Memmingen. 
20.09.2012  On the suggestion of the Senate, the Ethics Committee of the Danube-University Krems is established. 
25.09.2012  Jürgen Willer resigns due to controversies between the Rector and the University Council. 
25.01.2013  A Christian Doppler laboratory is opened. It focuses on innovative therapies in sepsis.  
20.02.2013  Secretary-General Mag. Friedrich Faulhammer is elected as the new rector by the University Council. 
01.08.2013  The new Rectorate takes office. Its members are Rector, Mag. Friedrich Faulhammer, Vice-Rector for research, Univ.-Prof. Dr. Viktoria Weber, and Vice-Rector for Academic Teaching/Scientific Continuing Education, Uni.-Prof. Dr. Monika Kil. 
15.10.2013  Christoph Gisinger is elected as Chairman of the Senate. 
31.10.2013  Solemn inauguration of the new Rectorate in the auditorium of the University. 
29.01.2014  In the council of ministers the government decides to submit the bill of a law to award doctorates at Danube University Krems to the National Council for decree. 
13.03.2014  With the publication in the Federal Law Gazette, the Federal Law to award doctorates at Danube University Krems became effective. 
07.11.2014   Rector Friedrich Faulhammer is elected as vice-president of the Danube Rectors´Conference.